An Insider's Guide to Waterloo Region

Interesting places on and off the beaten track

Archive for June 14th, 2010

FIFA World Cup Fever

When we went on long road trips in the 1960′s, my four brothers and I played games to pass the miles such as “I spy”, “Red convertible”, and the recording of as many license plates as possible. No wonder we fought over window seats. This month I can’t help but make a mental note of all the soccer flags flying on the sides of vehicles as I drive the city streets. Germany, Portugal and England are well represented in the region but I have also seen South Africa, Brazil and Mexico. The pictures in the collage above were all taken through the car window. What team are you cheering for?

Written by Ruth

June 14, 2010 at 12:04 am

Posted in Events, Sports

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.