An Insider's Guide to Waterloo Region

Interesting places on and off the beaten track

City Café Bakery

The son of one of our patients brings tarts from the City Café Bakery for the staff from time to time. They are big, rich and very popular. City Café Bakery makes and sells bagels, croissants, pizza, melts, brownies, tarts and more. The store has no cash register and payment is on the honour system with customers calculating the total and putting money in an old bus fare box. We dropped in to the West Avenue location one afternoon to get a slice of pizza but lunch was over. The hours are on the blackboard in the first picture. Bagels, sweets and beverages are available throughout the day.

West Avenue, Kitchener location

Locations:

50 South Ottawa St Kitchener, ON N2G3S7
175 West Avenue Kitchener, ON N2G 1R9
72 King St. East Cambridge, ON N3H
Written by Ruth

November 5, 2010 at 12:07 am

Posted in Local Business, Restaurants

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I believe I have eaten at City Cafe once before…but I don’t remember an “honour” system. So maybe it has changed hands since I was there. I had pizza and a tart…both were very delicious!! I think the honour system is a great selling feature. People feel trusted and there fore will not leave without paying (I’m sure there a few exceptions). I should go a visit it again…I do like pizza and tarts -yummo!

    Cheryl D

    November 5, 2010 at 8:08 am

    • They will take your money in a more traditional way, but the honour system is available.

      Ruth

      November 6, 2010 at 12:27 am

  2. Our office used to be around the corner and I enjoyed the atmosphere and their bagels. Are there still wood-fired, brick-oven bagels as the picture looks different than I remember?

    Jeff Gingerich

    November 5, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    • The wood-fired stove was off to the left of this picture. It was pretty busy in there at the time and I just got the one indoor picture.

      Ruth

      November 6, 2010 at 12:29 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

