An Insider's Guide to Waterloo Region

Interesting places on and off the beaten track

Ice Fishing on Guelph Lake

Guelph Lake is about twenty to thirty minutes from any spot in Kitchener-Waterloo and is a good all-season destination for outdoor enthusiasts. I was there today and it was sunny but cold. Several people were ice fishing on the lake but none were using huts. Let’s hope they caught some fish for their effort. (map)

Guelph Lake is a man-made reservoir along the Speed River. The dam was built to control flooding within the Grand River watershed. The conservation area is maintained by the Grand River Conservation Authority.

Written by Ruth

January 30, 2011 at 9:11 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My dad was a fisherman in northern Ontario when he first moved here from Holland. He did plenty of ice fishing in his day. I look at that and I would be scared of going through the ice…but I bet the fish sure taste good….mmmm!

    Cheryl D

    January 31, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  2. I looked hard to see if they had fish, but didn’t see any.

    Ruth

    January 31, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  3. I wonder if I could get there by bus? Having no car makes it difficult to get anywhere. I told my bf about this post… he was pretty excited. He loves to fish!

    Michelle

    February 13, 2011 at 1:43 pm

  4. I don’t know of any bus that travels to the conservation area. It is fairly close to the city limits, but not near any inter-city buses.

    Ruth

    February 13, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • P.S. I tried to comment on your blog but it would not accept my ID as a WordPress blogger.

      Ruth

      February 13, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      • Ah, that’s too bad. Why can’t blogger and wordpress play nicely? ;)

        Michelle

        February 15, 2011 at 1:16 am

  5. […] for raising their families. There are a number of boxes along the RIM Park trail in Waterloo and at Guelph Lake Conservation Area. I enjoy watching Tree Swallows build their nests in the spring and find them one of the prettiest […]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

