An Insider's Guide to Waterloo Region

Interesting places on and off the beaten track

Doon Mills

Doon Mills Ruins

Scottish immigrant Adam Ferrie Jr, built a flour mill 1839 along the Grand River at Doon, the ruins of which still stand at the trail head near Old Mill Road and Mill Park Drive in Kitchener. This Homer Watson Park trail leads to a scenic view of the Pioneer Tower on the opposite bank of the river. This is a good birding area in all seasons.

Written by Ruth

January 7, 2010 at 12:01 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ohhhh an old familiar site. Sure wish there was more of the ruins around to see 😦 I also see lots of people making this spot for photo background. Last year I saw 2 weddings and 3 other (families?) groups getting pictures professionally done. It is a good spot. I’m really enjoying this new “daily” venture you have me on. It’s fun!

    Cheryl D

    January 7, 2010 at 9:15 am

  2. This is basically the spot where I first met you, Cheryl. I haven’t seen any wedding parties here, but it would be a lovely back drop for pictures.

    waterlooinsider

    January 7, 2010 at 9:21 am

    • I have an oil painting of the mill by Georgetown artist Frank C Black, deceased. Send me your email address at csparling@telus.net and I willl email you a photo.

      Chris Sparling

      September 18, 2010 at 1:08 pm


Comments are closed.

