An Insider's Guide to Waterloo Region

Interesting places on and off the beaten track

Wings of Paradise Butterfly Conservatory

Wings of Paradise outdoor butterfly garden

Wings of Paradise Butterfly Conservatory opened January 26, 2001 and is a privately owned Canadian Corporation. Wings of Paradise is situated on a 117 acre site which includes the environmentally sensitive Kossuth Bog. The 25,000 square foot facility includes a 10,800 square foot indoor tropical garden featuring 1000’s of free flying butterflies from around the world, over 75 different varieties of tropical plants, waterfalls, streams, reflecting pools, tropical finches, chinese painted quail and red-eared slider turtles.” (from their website)

We visited the conservatory for the first time this past weekend but I almost didn’t make it in the front door. The beautiful butterfly garden in front of the building attracted a variety of interesting birds and butterflies.

Wings of Paradise Butterfly Conservatory
2500 Kossuth Road
Cambridge, Ontario, N3H 4R7 (map)
Written by Ruth

September 14, 2010 at 12:12 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this place. It’s quaint. They should be doing their butterfly release soon (or have they already?). I like to see all the different butterflies on display from around the world, not to mention the excitement of one landing on me. It’s close to work and one day I needed to get away from my desk and slipped down there for a bit. It certainly is relaxing.

    Cheryl D

    September 14, 2010 at 8:43 am

    • If I slipped down here during my work day, I would never get back to my job 😉

      Ruth

      September 14, 2010 at 9:08 pm

  2. My wife is the horticulturalist at Wings of Paradise and planted and tended those amazing gardens. Great picture!

    James

    September 14, 2010 at 11:21 am

    • Kudos to your wife! She is a great gardener, and I have a question for her in my next post.

      Ruth

      September 14, 2010 at 9:09 pm

  3. Simply wondering…..I noticed the name Kossuth Road and Kossuth Bog at the Conservatory. It is a Hungarian name I know, but does it have anything to do with Hungary or the founder’s origin, or is it simply coincidence.

    Just curious!
    H. Tibbals

    Hajnalka Tibbals

    March 17, 2011 at 9:03 am

    • According to Wikipedia the road is named after Lajos (Louis) Kossuth. Apparently there is a plaque in his honour somewhere along the roadway. You can see it on the wikipedia link.

      Ruth

      March 17, 2011 at 5:24 pm


Comments are closed.

